Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Referencing: Newspaper articles

In-text reference

Direct quote (page number/s must be included)

Sugden (2010) suggests "it is rumoured that some junior ministers are threatening to resign" (p. 19).

Paraphrasing (use of page number/s encouraged)

Upper fee limits are being debated (Sugden, 2010, p. 19).

Reference list

Sugden, J. (2010, November 1). University fees will triple despite quit threats by Lib Dems. The Times, p.19.

Notes
  • In the reference list:, if an article continues across discontinuous pages list them all, separated by a comma (e.g. pp. 21, 26, 28-29).
In-text reference

Direct quote (page number/s must be included)

The "device was in a locked glass box" during the appearance ("BlackBerry's PlayBook tablet", 2010, p.43).

Paraphrasing (use of page number/s encouraged)

The PlayBook will play Flash videos ("BlackBerry's PlayBook tablet", 2010, p.43).

Reference list

Blackberry's PlayBook tablet makes a surprise appearance on stage (2010, November 2). The Australian, p. 43.    

Notes
  • In the reference list:, if an article continues across discontinuous pages list them all, separated by a comma (e.g. pp. 21, 26, 28-29).
In-text reference

Direct quote (page number/s must be included)

"China, for instance, is targeting...over 15 years" (Gittens, 2010, p. 17).

Paraphrasing (use of page number/s encouraged)

Gittens (2010) accuses Australia of being behind other countries efforts to reduce carbon. 

Reference list

Gittins, R. (2010, November 17). Suits us to be deluded on climate. The Age. Retrieved from http://www.theage.com.au

Notes
  • The APA manual states that it is not necessary to include database information as databases change over time (p. 192). However the APA also acknowledges that undergraduate students are often expected to include database information to prove that they have done sufficient research.
  • Therefore we suggest that you use this adapted format if no alternative is given by your lecturer or tutor.
  • For articles that are easily located (for example, available in print or on microfilm) you do not need to provide database information. If the article is not easily found, provide the home or entry page URL for the database/archive.
  • It is no longer necessary to include the retrieval date.
In-text reference

Direct quote (page number/s must be included)

Proteins "may offer the answer to the problem of scaling up from components to machines" ("Incredible shrinking people", 1995, para. 9).

Paraphrasing (use of page number/s encouraged)

Nanotechnology is rapidly changing ("Incredible shrinking people", 1995).

Reference list

Incredible shrinking people. (1995, 2 December). The Economist. Retrieved from http://www.economist.com 

Notes
  • The APA manual states that it is not necessary to include database information as databases change over time (p. 192). However the APA also acknowledges that undergraduate students are often expected to include database information to prove that they have done sufficient research.
  • Therefore we suggest that you use this adapted format if no alternative is given by your lecturer or tutor.
  • For articles that are easily located (for example, available in print or on microfilm) you do not need to provide database information. If the article is not easily found, provide the home or entry page URL for the database/archive.
  • It is no longer necessary to include the retrieval date.
In-text reference

Direct quote (page number/s must be included)

Melbourne is "overrunning small country towns" (Dobbin, 2010, para. 1).

Paraphrasing (use of page number/s encouraged)

Developers are close to the boundaries (Dobbin, 2010).

Reference list

Dobbin, M. (2010, November 22). Melbourne jumps its boundary. The Age. Retrieved from http://www.theage.com.au/

In-text reference

Direct quote (page number/s must be included)

The state of Louisiana will "spend the money on coastal restoration" ("Focus changes", 2010, para. 2).

Paraphrasing (use of page number/s encouraged)

The project will be scaled back ("Focus changes", 2010). 

Reference list

Focus changes for Louisiana in oil cleanup (2010, November 3). The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/

Notes
  • Where page numbers are not provided give the paragraph number using the abbreviation para.
  • If headings are used cite the first few words of the heading and the number of the paragraph following to direct the reader e.g. (Regolith, 2010, "On the Earth" para. 6).
Loading

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us