Skip to Main Content
University of Wollongong Australia

Subject Readings: guide for staff

Transition to next teaching period

If your list might be reused, do not delete it at the end of session. This will permanently remove it from the system. If you no longer want the list to show up in 'My Lists', remove yourself as a collaborator.

Roll over a list

What is a 'roll over' and when can I use it?

'Roll over' copies an existing list so you can use it again in your new Moodle site for the same subject. It saves you time and you can still edit and update the list after it has been rolled over.

(The first time you use the new Subject Readings tool you won't be able to use roll over as you don't have any existing lists in the system, but you can use roll over in future.)


Follow these steps to make a copy of your existing list for your new Moodle site:

  1. Go to your new Moodle site for the upcoming session and add the Subject Readings activity if it's not already there. If you copied a previous Moodle site, the Subject Readings activity may already be there.
     
  2. Click in to Subject Readings
     
  3. From the welcome screen, choose the Roll over option.
     
  4. A pop-up window will appear. From the drop-down list, select the Moodle site whose reading list you want to copy and use for your new Moodle site. In most cases, it will be the Moodle site from the last time the subject was taught. Check the subject code and year/session (e.g. S122 = Autumn Session 2022). What to do if you can't find the relevant site in the drop-down menu of Moodle sites.
     
  5. Select what aspects of the list you would like to copy or reset.
     
  6. Choose if you want existing permalinks to point to the new list once the list is published. We recommend selecting YES. This will mean that if you also rolled over the Moodle site, any links to the reading list embedded throughout the site will point to the rolled over list.
     
  7. Click 'ROLL OVER'
     
  8. Now you have made a copy of the previous list. You can edit, rearrange, add or delete items on your rolled over list to prepare it for the upcoming session. Your list should be associated to your new Moodle site for the upcoming session.

    You may notice the title of your list includes "(Rolled over)" at the end. You do not need to edit this - the Library will edit the list title when you submit the list.
     
  9. Finalise your list by submitting it to the Library and publishing.

Roll over FAQs