Skip to Main Content
University of Wollongong Australia

UOW College Hong Kong

Telford Library and Kowloon City Library, Hong Kong

UOWCHK Library Collection Development Policy

1. Purpose

This policy provides a framework for development and maintenance of library collections at the UOW College Hong Kong (UOWCHK). It reflects the Library’s vision and purpose in support of teaching and research activities of the College.

The general principles are aligned with the collection development policy of UOW. This document will be updated or amended whenever necessary.

2. Selection Criteria

Selection of library materials is a joint effort of the Library and Academic staff. The Library aims to provide access to a minimum of one copy of each prescribed text and recommended reading at the campus Library or access centre where the subject is taught.

2.1. Format

The Library will purchase electronic versions of material in preference when a title is available both in print and electronic formats.

2.2. Edition

Normally a monograph in its latest edition will be acquired. Older editions may be acquired only if they are specially required with justification.

2.3. Number of Copies

The Library aims to provide access to one copy of each prescribed text and recommended reading at the campus Library. Multiple copies of an item may be purchased if they are in heavy demand as follows for prescribed texts:

  • Print - 1 copy per 25 students, to a maximum of 3 copies; recommended readings - one copy per 25 students, to a maximum of 2 copies.
  • Ebooks - a maximum of 2 ‘copies’ per access model. For example, where the model is three concurrent users, a maximum of two purchases, enabling six ‘copies’ for circulation.
  • One-off purchase of ebook is preferred to subscription based.

2.4. Review of subscription

Decisions on titles to be subscribed, cancelled, or maintained, are made in consultation with faculties or on the basis of budget availability, usage, and continued relevance to teaching and research.

2.5. Replacement

The libraries will use the following criteria to assess replacement of damaged, missing, or lost materials:

  • Continuing value of the material
  • Continuing demand for the material
  • Extent of coverage of the subject in the existing collection
  • Availability of newer or better material in the field
  • Cost of replacement

3. Gift Donation to Library

The Library welcomes donation of books and other materials that align with the learning, teaching and research priorities of the College.

Conditions of acceptance:

  • Materials in good to excellent condition may be accepted.
  • The Library reserves the right to accept or decline prospective donations.
  • Once a donation is accepted, the Library reserves the right to make the final decision on retention, cataloguing treatment, and other considerations related to the use or disposal of the donated items.
  • The Library does not accept donations with restrictions or special conditions attached to them.

The Library will NOT accept the following items as gifts or donations:

  • Duplicate items already held by the Library
  • Outdated textbook
  • Individual magazine/journal issues
  • Materials in poor condition (defective, moldy, pages torn/missing, brittle paper, etc.)
  • Illegal, pirated or copyright-infringed items (Photocopies, off-prints, etc.)
  • Stamped publications (e.g. already stamped as other organization’s property)
  • Currency of media format (e.g. VHS tapes, floppy diskettes will not be accepted)

To donate books or other material to the Library:

  1. Contact the Library before donating items. Email uowchklib@uow.edu.au or phone 2707-4643.
  2. Complete the Book Donation Form below.

4. Collection Evaluation and Maintenance

In order to ensure continued relevance, currency and condition of the collection and to provide sufficient space for the addition of new material.

Criteria for deselection:

  • Currency: materials which no longer meet the learning, teaching and research needs of the university.
  • Usage: low or no usage may be a factor in weeding decisions. Circulation statistics or other reports is referenced for weeding.
  • Physical condition: material in poor physical condition and beyond repair.
  • Duplicates: multiple copies of previous editions where the newer edition is held.
  • Completeness: materials that are part of a multi-volume set of which the Library does not have all volumes may be weeded.
  • Uniqueness: the Library will not weed materials that are considered unique.
  • Format obsolescence: materials in obsolete formats or for which access equipment is unavailable.

Last updated: 2 January 2021

A-Z databases |  Library SEARCH |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback