Guides: Public Health: Public Health

Public health

In the databases below you'll find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, grey literature and book chapters relevant to your study of public health.

Public health at University of Wollongong focuses on the promotion of healthy people, places and policies.

Public health topics you may be searching for could include:

population health
chronic illness prevention and control
epidemiology
social determinants of health
health promotion
sexual health
research methods.

Databases for public health

Here are some databases with coverage across many areas of public health.

These databases are mostly medical and health focused. You can make your searches richer by also searching multidisciplinary databases like Scopus and Web of Science.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
An international biomedicine and health database with over 26 million references, including full text for over 1300 journals indexed in MEDLINE from 1966 onwards. MEDLINE uses the US National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), to index citations. Use this vocabulary to construct systematic searches.
PubMed
PubMed comprises 30 million international citations, including MEDLINE content. PubMed also covers in-process citations (providing records for articles before those records are indexed with MeSH headings), "ahead of Print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE indexed journal, citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing, citations to some additional life sciences journals and pre-1996 material not yet indexed with MeSH headings. Use PubMed for broader coverage then MEDLINE.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Material in the CINAHL database covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and the allied health disciplines. CINAHL provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this is the largest index of scholarly articles in behavioural sciences and mental health. PsychINFO is international and indexes material from 1800 onward. Produced by the American Psychological Association. It includes material from the PsycARTICLES database.
Health Collection (Informit Full-Text)
An Australian database focused on health, the Informit Health Collection covers disease, mental illness, personal health, substance abuse, women's health, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health, geriatric health management, paediatrics, and more.
Access Medicine
AccessMedicine provides access to a range of medical titles, as well as illustrations, study tools, case files, multimedia, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools. To access flashcards and other self-assessment tools, select "Study Tools" from the top menu.
Scopus
Scopus is a large rigorous database, drawing peer-reviewed material from all disciplines. You can use the refinement options to narrow the research down to social work topics. It is index-only, meaning you will need to select the 'Find Full Text' button to read full articles.
Web of Science - Core Collection
The leading citation index' of scholarly literature, chemical reactions and author information. Includes citation databases: Sciences Expanded (1965+), Social Sciences (1965+), Arts & Humanities (1975+). Conference Proceedings (1991+) and Emerging Sources Citation (2005+).