Skip to Main Content
University of Wollongong Australia

Beyond Orientation

Subject readings

Subject readings are resources for your subject (e.g. library material, textbooks, journal articles, book chapters, websites, videos). Resources for your subject may also be listed in the Subject Outline. Check with your Subject Coordinator if you are unsure. To cite sources correctly for your subject, use the style specified in your Subject Outline and refer to UOW Referencing Style Guides.

Changes to finding subject readings

For subjects starting from Summer Session 2021/22 and beyond, you can access your subject readings directly from your Moodle site.

If your subject started before October 2021 (e.g. Spring 2021), you may still need to visit the previous subject readings site to access readings and past exam papers.

From Summer Session, find your subject readings in Moodle

For subjects starting from Summer Session 2021/2022 and beyond, you'll be able to view your reading list and access resources directly from your subject's Moodle site. Look for the Subject Readings icon. 

Subject Readings icon

Subject Readings icon is usually located in the Subject Information and Resources section near the Subject Outline.

If you need help, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.

You'll also be able to:

Mark an item as 'done' to keep track of what you've read

Click the tick to the right of the title.

'Mark as done' tick is located to the right of a citation title

Or, click the ellipsis [...] to the right of the title and select 'Mark as done'.

Ellipsis menu to the right of a citation with 'Mark as done' selected.

Subject coordinators can see how many students have marked an item as done, but not the names of individual students.


Tag items to easily find them later

Click 'Add tag' below the item's title. Type your tag in the field, for example Use for essay or Exam prep. Press 'Enter'.
Tags added by you are blue and can be removed using the 'X'. Tags added by your subject coordinator, such as the Essential and Recommended tags, are green.

Tags are shown below reading list items.

To search for items with a particular tag, use the 'Filter list' icon in the top menu.

The 'Filter list' options are shown. Including the option to filter by different tags.
 

Make notes about items

To make a note, click the title of an item to open the detailed record. Scroll down to the 'Private note' section. Click 'Add private note'. Type your note in the field and click 'Save'. Private notes are only visible to you.

Report broken links

Click the item title to open the detailed record, then under 'Links & Availability' click the mark as broken button to the right of the link that is broken.

Like items

Click a title to open the detailed record. Then in the top right corner, click the heart icon to like an item. Subject coordinators can see the number of likes, but not the names of students who liked the item.

Like button

Comment beside items (if enabled by your lecturer)

Use the Student Discussion at the list level to comment on the list as a whole. To comment about a specific reading, click its title and use the Student Discussion in the right hand panel to discuss or ask a question about that specific item. Comments are public and can be seen by other students and teaching staff.

Student discussion panel showing blank field to add a comment and 'submit comment' button to the bottom left.
 

Annotate PDFs such as scanned book chapters

If there is a PDF in your reading list, such as a scanned book chapter, you can highlight sections of text and add comments using the speech bubble icon. If public annotations are enabled by your subject coordinator, you can choose whether your comment is public (visible to other staff and students) or private (only for your reference). If public annotations are not enabled, you will not see the Public or Private radio buttons and your comment will automatically be private. Note: A downloaded copy of the PDF will not show any comments that you or others have made.

Highlighted text with comment icon visible above

Comment field showing Public and Private radio buttons underneath to choose visibility.

You can also draw a shape around a feature in the document, such as an image or table, and add a comment. Use the 'Shape' icon above the PDF.

Shape icon located in the icons menu above the PDF document.

If you want to read the original document without the overlay of annotations and highlighting, use the 'Hide annotations' button at the top right of the PDF.

'Hide annotations' icon

Frequently asked questions

When I click the Subject Readings icon on my Moodle site I can't access the reading list.
This may be because the list hasn't been published yet. Please let your lecturer or tutor know if you are still not able to see the reading list once session has started.

There is no Subject Readings icon on my Moodle site.
If the Moodle site is for a subject that started before 1 October 2021 (e.g. Spring 2021), you may still need to go to the previous subject readings site to access your readings. Also, not every Moodle site will include Subject Readings. Check your Subject Outline to see if your subject readings are listed there or ask your Subject Coordinator.

Which browser should I use?
Subject Readings works best in Firefox and Chrome.

Can I create a personal reading list? 
Yes. You can add items to 'My Collection', which is your own personal repository of resources.

Ways to add to 'My Collection':

  • Select 'My Collection' in the top left menu and click 'Add items' to add resources from Library SEARCH.
  • Use the Cite It! browser extension to add resources you find while browsing the web. To install the extension, click your initials at the top right and select Cite It!.
  • Copy items in subject readings to your collection by clicking the ellipsis [...] beside an item and select 'Copy to my collection'.
  • Pin items to your favourites in Library SEARCH. Note: 'My Collection' in Subject Readings syncs with 'My Favourites' in Library SEARCH. If you delete an item from one, it deletes it from the other. Tags/labels also sync. An exception is that adding to 'My Collection' won't add to 'My Favourites'.

To go to your 'Collection', click the menu at the top left and select 'My Collection'. From there you can view and tag items in your collection.

Top left menu open with 'My Collection' button selected.

Can I view reading lists for subjects I am not currently enrolled in?
Yes. You can view and access readings in any published list, even for subjects you are not currently studying. To browse other lists, click 'FIND LISTS' from the top left menu.

Where can I find further help?
In the first instance, contact your subject coordinator or tutor if you are unable to see the reading list or access specific readings. You can also contact the Library for general support using Subject Readings.

A-Z databases |  Library SEARCH |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback