Skip to Main Content
University of Wollongong Australia

Subject Readings: guide for staff

Important reminders

  • We strongly recommend using electronic resources in reading lists to support flexible learning and greater equity of access.
     
  • Not all titles are made available by publishers as ebooks. Some are only available in print, or for individual private purchase, with no provision for libraries to purchase.
     
  • There may be delays in adding to subject readings if a print book chapter needs to be scanned or Document Delivery is needed to source a copy. There are limited staff currently working from the Library building and a number of university libraries are closed due to lockdowns in NSW and Victoria so it may be difficult to source requested material.
     
  • All subject readings must comply with copyright. The journal, Harvard Business Review, also prohibits linking to specific articles under their license terms. See guidance on copyright and licensing
     
  • Physical text books will not be available as 2-day loans. They can be borrowed for the normal loan period, subject to recall.

Contact a Liaison Librarian for resource selection support and advice. We can work with you to identify online materials to support student learning. Email: lib-liaison-services@uow.edu.au

Add, edit and tag items

Add items

Subject Readings can consist of resources like ebooks, book chapters, journal articles, websites, videos (e.g. YouTube) and exam papers.

You can add items to your list by:

  • searching for them in the Library collection
  • adding them manually
  • using the Cite It! browser extension (especially useful for adding external resources like YouTube videos and websites)

Search the Library collection

  1. Click 'ADD ITEMS +'
  2. Select 'Library SEARCH'
  3. Enter your keywords and search
  4. Click a citation then click 'ADD' (or drag and drop it onto your list)

Video: Add and edit items

Add citations manually

  1. Click 'ADD ITEMS +'
  2. Select 'Manually add citation'
  3. Complete the fields (for websites, the URL should go in the 'Source' field)
  4. Click 'ADD'

If you are uploading a file, please be aware of copyright.


You can add citations to your list from outside the Library collection by:

  • searching for them in Library SEARCH (tick "Include records without full text access")
  • adding the citation details manually
  • using Cite It!

Complete as many fields as possible so the Library has the necessary details to source the correct item via our suppliers. If it's a book chapter or journal article we don't hold, please add the Document Delivery tag.

Use Cite It! to collect resources while browsing the web

Add the Cite It! extension to your bookmarks bar:

  1. Ensure your bookmarks bar is visible on every tab (open a new tab, right click the bookmarks bar and tick 'show bookmarks bar')
  2. In Subject Readings, click your initials in the top-right corner
  3. Select Cite It!
  4. A pop-up window opens. Drag the 'CITE IT!' button on to your bookmarks bar.

When you find a website you want to add to your list:

  1. Click Cite It! on your bookmarks bar
  2. A pop-up will appear with the website's details. Edit details if needed and choose to add the item to a particular list, section or 'My Collection'.
  3. Select 'ADD & CLOSE'

You can also use Cite It! to quickly import the details of a book from a website, such as 'Amazon Books'. The Cite It! window will tell you if the Library holds the book. If the Library doesn't hold the book, you can still add the citation details to your list and the Library will use them to look for the book via our suppliers.

Note: for Cite It! to work, pop-ups must be enabled in your browser settings and you need to be logged in. If you click Cite It! and you aren't logged it, it will prompt you to log in. Then you can go back to the website and click Cite It! again.

View transcript (with timestamps)

Store potential readings in 'My Collection'

'My Collection' includes any favourites you've pinned in Library SEARCH. You can also add items to your collection using Cite It!. Build your collection of resources throughout the year, then drag and drop them on to your reading list.

View your collection by clicking the menu at the top left, then click 'MY COLLECTION'. You can add tags to help you sort and filter items.

My Collection

NOTE: 'My Collection' in Subject Readings syncs with 'My Favourites' in Library SEARCH. If you delete an item from one, it deletes it from the other. Tags/labels also sync. An exception is that adding to 'My Collection' won't add to 'My Favourites'.

Edit items

  • Click the ellipsis [...] at the top right of an item, section or list. This will reveal additional options at that level such as 'Edit item' or 'Delete item'.

Screenshot showing the options presented when you click the ellipsis to the right of an item
 

  • Edit the resource 'Type' if needed. For example, if you only want students to read a specific chapter of a book, edit the type to 'Book Chapter'.
     
  • Add a public note to tell students additional instructions, such as what chapter to read or what aspects to focus on. Click the title to open an item record and add a note. (You can also add a private note visible to you and collaborating staff.)

The public note appears under the citation e.g. Please read Chapter 6 of 'Public health nutrition' before your week 8 tutorial.


Video: Add and edit items (demonstrates how to change a 'book' to a 'book chapter' and add public notes)
 

Organise items

Screenshot showing you can drag a citation by clicking the right edge of the item
 

  • You can also move citations using 'Add to clipboard' from the ellipsis menu. Multiple items on the clipboard can be moved or copied to another section at once.

Tag items

Tag items if needed to inform the Library and your students. Below are the tags you can apply. You can't create your own tags, but if there is additional information you want to tell your students you can add a Public Note.

Click ‘Add Tag’ below the item title to see the available tags. Click the tag you want to apply.

Example of a book chapter from a print book in the Library. The digitisation tag is being applied.


Tags visible to students and Library staff

Essential / Recommended
When you add a book to your list, you'll be prompted to tag it as Essential or Recommended. This information may be used in library work processes. Choose 'Not specified' if you don't want to apply a tag.
You can choose whether to add the Essential or Recommended tag to other items in your list.

Text book / Open book exam
Add these tags to inform your students and the Library about which book is the main text for the subject and if any books are required for open book examinations.

Tags visible to Library staff

Digitisation
Apply this tag when you do not have a copy of an article or book chapter to upload and require library staff to scan the print resource held by the Library (note: 10% or one chapter of a book can be digitised). REMINDER: specify which chapter of the book you want scanned.

Document Delivery
Apply this tag if you know the Library does not hold the chapter/article and we need to source it from another library.

View transcript (with timestamps)

A-Z databases |  Library SEARCH |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback