Guides: Legal Research: International case law databases

International case law databases

Use the following resources to find information for International case law.

Tip: unreported judgments can often be found directly from the court's website.

Lexis Advance Research & US Research
Lexis Advance provides access to case law from the US, UK, NZ, Canada and many other countries. Key titles include: New Zealand Law Reports and the All England Law Reports.
International:
Select "Lexis.com international and news content" (above red search box) to access international material. NOTE: Not all countries listed will have cases available.
US:
Select "US Research" from the drop down menu on the left side of the black header bar to access US material.
Westlaw - United States and US Territories + International
Westlaw provides access to case law from the United States from 1658 and selected international jurisdictions.
US:
Select "Cases" from the "All Content" tab, then search across all jurisdictions, OR select court, state or topic.
Non U.S Jurisdictions:
Select International Materials, including United Kingdom; Canada; and New Zealand, then select "Cases" from Content Type and select the jurisdiction required.
HeinOnline Academic Core Collection
HeinOnline contains international law with a focus on the United States. Key titles include English Reports, US Supreme Court Library, and Canada Supreme Court Reports.
To search: Select the "Case Law" tab above the search box and enter the citation OR search the "Full Text" tab and limit results to "Section Type" then "Cases".
Tutorial: Searching for case law

World Legal Information Institute
The World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility. This database contains judicial decisions from a number of countries worldwide, including Hong Kong, Pacific Islands, Africa, India, and the Middle East.
To search: Select "Advanced Search", enter keywords and choose the jurisdiction case database from the "Select the WorldLII Database(s) to search" drop down menu. Alternatively, you can select "All countries" from the left menu under "Global", then browse the country and court/database you require.
FALM - The Free Access to Law Movement
Provides free access to law from more than 50 organisations around the world, including AustLII, BaiLII, AsianLII, AfricanLII, LII of India and many more countries.
To search: Choose the icon of the international legal organisation you would like to search.

International Court of Justice (ICJ)
Principal judicial organ of the United Nations and has been operational since 1946

Judgments - UK Parliament
House of Lords and Supreme Court judgments.
UK Courts and Tribunals Judiciary
Judgments from a range of UK Courts, including County Courts, Crown Court, Military Court, and Tribunals.
BAILII
British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.

NZ Judicial Decisions Online
Judicial Decisions Online provides a searchable database of judgments and decisions sourced from the New Zealand Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, and High Court.
Courts of New Zealand
Provides links to judgments from NZ courts including District Courts.
NZLII
Access to New Zealand case law, legislation, law journals, law reform, treaties and Maori Law.

Supreme Court of Canada - Judgments
Supreme Court of Canada judgments since its creation in 1875 and judgments in leave applications since 2006. The collection is updated within minutes of the public release of the judgments by the Court.
CanLII
Access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.

US Supreme Court
Decisions of the US Supreme Court.
US Courts Opinions
Public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004

EUR-Lex
Access to European Union Law. It provides access to the authentic Official Journal of the European Union; EU law; preparatory acts; EU case-law; international agreements; EFTA documents; summaries of EU legislation; other public documents.