Legal Research

Available documents include the UN Journal, as well as documents from the General Assembly, Security Council, Human Rights Council, Economic and Social Council and others.
To search:
Click on "Official Document System" to search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

The leading Australian journal on international law, publishing articles on a range of international law topics. Includes a summary and analysis of Australian cases in which international law was an issue.

Principal judicial organ of the United Nations and has been operational since 1946

​The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity.
Contains reports of the court to the UN, "situations" and cases, and witness and victim statements.

The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is an independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention.
Contains a range of material such as written and oral proceedings, orders, judgments, press releases, and the resolutions, rules and regulations of the Tribunal.

The SHERLOC portal is an initiative to facilitate the dissemination of information regarding the implementation of the UN Convention against Transnational Organized Crime, the three Protocols thereto and the international legal framework against terrorism. It includes: legislation, case law, strategies, treaties, and a bibliographic database. Crime types include: corruption; counterfeiting; cybercrime; drug offences; falsified medical products; money laundering; obstruction of justice; participation in an organised criminal group; piracy and maritime crime; smuggling of migrants; terrorism; trafficking in cultural property, persons and firearms; wildlife, forestry and fisheries crime.

The International Law Library is developed with the assistance of all LIIs whose databases are searchable via WorldLII. The International Law Library includes both the International Treaties Collection and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection.

Access to primary & secondary materials for research in the areas of International Law, Comparative Law & Foreign Law