Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Finding Information

How to find information for your assessments, and how to get the most out of your sources once you've found them.

Journals & journal articles

What you can learn from this page:

  • What a journal is.
  • How to find and access journal articles using SEARCH and databases.

What is a journal?

Unlike magazines, journals are usually scholarly and often peer-reviewed (more on scholarly and peer-review here). They contain research-focused articles written by experts in their field.

Finding journal articles with SEARCH

  1. Enter your search words into SEARCH
  2. Authenticate with your UOW username and password.
  3. Under Source types select Academic Journals (you may have to select Show More to see it).
  4. Refine your results with other filters such as Publication Date, Peer Reviewed or Subject.

Finding full-text journal articles using SEARCH

When your results are returned in SEARCH look for PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text links to access the full article.

Finding journal articles in databases

Database search interfaces can feel very different from your standard Google search box.

The good news is SEARCH may already index the database you need to use. If that's not the case, use these tips to help you get started.

Which journals do I have access to?

The A-Z journals list identifies all the journals you have access to while studying at UOW.

You can search using a number of filters such as title, keyword, ISSN, and subject (and there are a few special options available for our medical students).

One thing you will notice is there are often multiple options listed for the same journal. Simply select a database that carries the date range you need.

Different database vendors often provide access to the same journal. Sometimes the date range is the same but usually it differs.

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us