Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Finding Information

How to find information for your assessments, and how to get the most out of your sources once you've found them.

Accessing the UOW thesis collection

The UOW thesis collection, available on Research Online, contains Higher Degree Research (HDR) theses, and selected Honours theses.

How to find UOW theses

Digital theses

Digital copies of UOW theses are available by the Library via Research Online.

  1. Go to Research Online.
  2. Under "Browse research material by", select "Theses".
  3. Enter your search words.

Print theses

A small number of print theses unsuitable for digitisation are held in UOW Archives.

  1. Enter your search words into Library SEARCH.
  2. Filter by "Dissertations/Theses" from the "Source Types" (select "Show More" if not displayed)

To request access to print theses, see our Service Desk staff on the Ground Floor of Wollongong Campus Library.

Please note:

  • Print theses cannot be borrowed, but can be viewed in the Wollongong Campus Library.
  • Some schools/departments also hold copies of theses and you can contact them for information.

Embargoed and restricted theses

Some UOW theses may not be accessible for a specified period (usually 24 months) if at the time of submission they have been:

  • embargoed by the author with the agreement of the supervisor and the Graduate Research School. This access restriction applies to both the print and digital copy of the thesis.
  • electronically restricted by the author. This access restriction applies to the digital copy only.

Access requires written permission from the supervisor or the author.

Finding Australian and international theses online

Australian theses in Trove

Australian theses are searchable via the National Library of Australia’s Trove service.

International theses

Try these resources to find international theses:

  1. British Library e-theses online service (EThOS) – you will need to register to download theses.
  2. Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology – an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music, theory, and enthnomusicology currently containing over 14,000 records. Legacy site.
  3. Hong Kong University Theses Online – primarily English, but some Chinese only theses.
  4. Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations (NDLTD) – international, full-text theses from participating collections around the world.
  5. Open Dissertations (Open Access) – a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, this connects you to Open Access Doctoral EDTs (Electronic Theses and Dissertations) accepted by American Universities from 1955 onwards in selected full-text.
  6. Dissertations and Theses A&I (Proquest) – contains over two million theses citations from 1743 onwards, from around the world but mostly from North America, with abstracts included from 1980. Citations from 1997 include a 24-page preview.
  7. WorldCat – useful for identifying theses held in North American libraries, however there is some overlap with ProQuest Dissertation & Theses. (Select 'Advanced Search' then 'Content' and 'Thesis/dissertations'.)

Further information

See the UOW theses collection page for information on submitting your UOW thesis to Research Online.

A-Z databases |  A-Z journals |  Catalogue |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback