Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Referencing: Books

Footnotes

47. J Shattock, 'Elizabeth Gaskell: journalism and letters' in L Brake and M Demoor (eds), The lure of illustration in the nineteenth century picture and press, Palgrave Macmillan, Basingstoke, 2009, p. 120.

Bibliography

Shattock, J, 'Elizabeth Gaskell: journalism and letters' in L Brake and M Demoor (eds), The lure of illustration in the nineteenth century picture and press, Palgrave Macmillan, Basingstoke, 2009, pp. 119-127.

Notes

Cite an ebook reference the same as a print title.  Do not include the database name, the URL or the viewed date.

Footnotes

10. E Gray, `The hair of Milton: historicism and literary history' in D Walford Davies (ed.), Romanticism, history, historicism: essays on an orthodoxy, Routledge, New York, 2009, pp. 33. 

Bibliography

Gray, E, 'The hair of Milton: historicism and literary history' in D Walford Davies (ed.), Romanticism, history, historicism: essays on an orthodoxy, Routledge, New York, 2009, pp. 32-42.   

Footnotes

46. V Koller, Metaphor and gender in business media discourse: a critical cognitive study, Palgrave Macmillan, New York, 2004, p. 45. 

Bibliography

Koller, V, Metaphor and gender in business media discourse: a critical cognitive study, Palgrave Macmillan, New York, 2004.

Footnotes

10. A Blackledge & A Creese (eds), Multilingualism: a critical perspective, Continuum, London, 2010, p. 29.

Bibliography

Blackledge, A & A Creese (eds), Multilingualism: a critical perspective, Continuum, London, New York, 2010.

Notes

Follow the editor or editors names with (ed.) for editor or (eds) for editors.

ONLINE
Footnotes

32. 'Choctaw' in UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, Vol. 1: Northeast and Southeast, 2nd edn, Detroit, UXL, 2008.

Bibliography

'Choctaw' in UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, Vol. 1: Northeast and Southeast, 2nd edn, Detroit, UXL, 2008.

Notes

If the online encyclopedia is from an online library database e.g. Gale Virtual Reference or Oxford Reference Online, cite it the same as you would for a print title. Do not include the database name, the URL or the viewed date.

If you have used a dictionary or encyclopedia from a website include the URL and the viewed date at the end of the reference.

 

PRINT
Footnotes

Short entry

12. The Oxford dictionary of the classical world, 2005 edn, s.v. 'Minerva'.

Long entry

13. 'Achilles', Britannica Concise Encyclopaedia, Encyclopaedia Britannica, Chicago, 2006, p. 11.

Bibliography

Short entry

The Oxford dictionary of the classical world, 2005 edn, s.v. 'Minerva'.

Long entry

'Achilles', Britannica Concise Encyclopaedia, Encyclopaedia Britannica, Chicago, 2006.

Notes

Rules for citing reference works vary greatly. If in doubt, check with your lecturer.

Well-known reference works such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are often only cited in the notes and do no appear in bibliographies. Publication details are often omitted, with only a brief citation given.

References to an alphabetically arranged work i.e. an entry in a dictionary should cite the item preceded by s.v. (For the Latin sub verbo, 'under the word'). See the short entry example (above).

If you consider it appropriate to list your reference works with the full publication details use the long entry example (above).

Footnotes

6. P Grimshaw, M Lake, A McGrath and M Quartly, Creating a Nation, McPhee Gribble, Ringwood, 1994, p. 300.

Bibliography

Grimshaw P, M Lake, A McGrath and M Quartly, Creating a Nation, McPhee Gribble, Ringwood, 1994.

Footnotes

6. R Broome, Aboriginal Australians: a history since 1788, 4th edn, Allen & Unwin, Crows Nest, NSW, 2010, p. 34.

11. R Broome, Aboriginal Victorians: a history since 1800, Allen & Unwin, Crows Nest, NSW, 2005, p. 45.

Bibliography

Broome, R, Aboriginal Victorians: a history since 1800, Allen & Unwin, Crows Nest, NSW, 2005.

--- Aboriginal Australians: a history since 1788, 4th edn, Allen & Unwin, Crows Nest, NSW, 2010.

Notes

In the bibliography arrange works by the same author, first by the author's name and then by the year of publication with the earliest year first.     

Footnotes

13. P Roth, Novels & other narratives, 1986-1991, Library of America, New York, 2008, p. 134.

14. P Roth, Indignation, Houghton Mifflin Co., Boston, 2008., p. 48.

Bibliography

Roth, P, Indignation, Houghton Mifflin Co., Boston, 2008.

Roth, P, Novels & other narratives, 1986-1991, Library of America, New York, 2008.

Footnotes

8. ALS networking essentials plus, Microsoft Press, Redmond, Wash., 2001, p. 21.

Bibliography

ALS networking essentials plus, Microsoft Press, Redmond, Wash., 2001.

Notes

If the book has no known author (i.e. if it is anonymous) list the book alphabetically by its title in the bibliography.

Footnotes

3 EP Sarafino, Health psychology: biopsychosocial interactions. 6th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, NJ, 2008, pp. 101-102.

4. DR Snow, Archaeology of native North America, Prentice Hall, Boston, 2010, p. 67.

Bibliography

Sarafino, EP, Health psychology: biopsychosocial interactions. 6th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, NJ, 2008.

Footnotes

M Heidegger Country path conversations, trans. BW Davis, Indiana University Press, Bloomington, 2010, p. 36.

Bibliography

Heidegger, M, Country path conversations, trans. BW Davis, Indiana University Press, Bloomington, 2010.

Loading

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us