Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Referencing: Newspaper articles

Footnotes

19. J Schembri, 'So you want to be a film critic?', The Age, 22 April 2006, p. 81.

Bibliography

Schembri, J, 'So you want to be a film critic?', The Age, 22 April 2006, p. 81.

Notes

If 'The' is part of a newspaper's title, it is italicised, for example, The Age, but the Herald Sun.

Footnotes

28. 'Britain rejects pardon for 'Breaker' Morant', The Australian, 12 November 2010, p. 14. 

Bibliography

'Britain rejects pardon for 'Breaker' Morant', The Australian, 12 November 2010, p. 14.    

Notes

If the article has no known author (i.e. if it is anonymous) list it alphabetically by its title in the bibliography.

If 'The' is part of a newspaper's title, it is italicised, for example, The Age, but the Herald Sun.

Footnotes

24. K Brooks, 'No surprise in big bro demise', The Courier-Mail, 16 July 2008, p. 29. 

Bibliography

Brooks, K, 'No surprise in big bro demise', The Courier-Mail, 16 July 2008, p. 29.

Notes

Reference a newspaper article from a library database i.e. Factiva, in exactly the same way as you would a print newspaper article. There is no need to acknowledge which database the article came from.

If 'The' is part of a newspaper's title, it is italicised, for example, The Age, but the Herald Sun.

If the article has no known author (i.e. if it is anonymous) list it alphabetically by its title in the bibliography.

If there is no date, include the abbreviation n.d. for no date.

Footnotes

S Bredow, 'Powder to the people', The Sydney Morning Herald, 7 June 2008, available from http://www.smh.com.au/news/ski/powder-to-the-people/2008/06/04/1212258872379.html, viewed 3 March 2008.

Bibliography

Bredow, S, 'Powder to the people', The Sydney Morning Herald,  7 June 2008, available from http://www.smh.com.au/news/ski/powder-to-the-people/2008/06/04/1212258872379.html, viewed 3 March 2008.    

Notes

If 'The' is part of a newspaper's title, it is italicised, for example, The Age, but the Herald Sun.

If the article has no known author (i.e. if it is anonymous) list it alphabetically by its title in the bibliography.

If there is no date, include the abbreviation n.d. for no date.

Loading

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us