Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Referencing: Online sources

Footnotes

57. E Woodbury, Manga circulation in Japan', Ooburoshiki, weblog, 1 February 2010, <http://eugenewoodbury.blogspot.com/2010/02/manga-circulation-in-japan.html>, viewed 19 January 2010.

Bibliography

Woodbury, E, `Manga circulation in Japan', Ooburoshiki, weblog, 1 February 2010, <http://eugenewoodbury.blogspot.com/2010/02/manga-circulation-in-japan.html>, viewed 19 January 2010.

Footnotes

60. F Magyar, `Re: The physics of global warming', weblog comment, 11 November 2010, <http://scienceblogs.com/swab/2010/11/tpof.php>, viewed 11 November 2010. 

Bibliography

Magyar, F, "Re: The physics of global warming", weblog comment, 11 November 2010, <http://scienceblogs.com/swab/2010/11/tpof.php>, viewed 11 November, 2010.    

Notes

Informal citation - blog entries can be cited informally in the main text rather than in a footnote i.e. `In a comment posted to The History Blog on October 25, 2010 ...'

If you use this style you do not need to include the blog entries and comments in your bibliography.

Formal citation - the examples listed above show the formal style for citing blogs and blog comments. Treat as a web site document and include: the author's name; the title of the post or blog, format (i.e. blog comment), date, the URL and the viewed date.

If there is no author's name listed, begin the reference with the website title.

If the author only provides a screen name or nickname on their post, use this as the author's name. e.g. MadScientist or CherryBomb.

If there is no date, include the abbreviation n.d. for no date.

Check the Style Notes section for additional information.

Footnotes

55. S Downes, Trujillo and Mexicans: a few words on racial stereotyping, Crikey.com.au, 2009, <http://www.crikey.com.au/Media-Arts-and-Sports/20090303-Trujillo-and-Mexicans-a-few-words-on-racial-stereotyping.html>, viewed 3 March 2009. 

Bibliography

Downes, S, Trujillo and Mexicans: a few words on racial stereotyping, Crikey.com.au, 2009, <http://www.crikey.com.au/Media-Arts-and-Sports/20090303-Trujillo-and-Mexicans-a-few-words-on-racial-stereotyping.html>, viewed 3 March 2009.

Notes

Include:

Author (or name of organisation responsible), Title of document (in italics), Name and place of the sponsor/publisher of the source (if available), Year (the date the site was last updated), URL, viewed Day Month Year.

If there is no author's name listed, begin the reference with the website title.

If there is no date, include the abbreviation n.d. for no date.

Footnotes

32. J Gillard, 'Parents & employers should be...', @JuliaGillard, Twitter, 15 October 2010,  <http://twitter.com/#!/JuliaGillard/status/27419429970>, viewed 17 January 2011.

Bibliography

Gillard, J 'Parents & employers should be...', @JuliaGillard, Twitter, 15 October 2010,  <http://twitter.com/#!/JuliaGillard/status/27419429970>, viewed 17 January 2011.    

Notes

Cite as though you are citing a web publication.

Include:

Name/Twitter handle. `Title or first few words of tweet or comment..', username, name of site, date posted, web address, viewed date.

Think carefully before including social network messages in your assignments. They might not be considered appropriate for scholarly work.

Footnotes

46. Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, New national laws to better protect kids in cars, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Melbourne, 2009, <http://www.edu.vic.gov.au/ about/news/nas/2009/nsl.htm>, viewed 9 July 2009.

Bibliography

Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, New national laws to better protect kids in cars, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Melbourne, 2009, <http://www.edu.vic.gov.au/ about/news/nas/2009/nsl.htm>, viewed 9 July 2009.

Notes

Include:

Author (or name of organisation responsible), Title (in italics), Name and place of the sponsor/publisher of the source (if available), Year (the date the site was last updated), URL, viewed Day Month Year.

If there is no author's name listed, begin the reference with the website title.

If there is no date, include the abbreviation n.d. for no date.

Loading

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us